An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Commander, Destroyer Squadron FIVE ZERO Menu


Destroyer Squadron 50 was first formed in 1943 to operate in the Pacific, the command operated with Adm. Marc Mitscher’s Task Force 58 and 38 during World War II until its disestablishment in November 1945. The squadron was equipped with nine 2,100-ton Fletcher-class destroyers, comprising Destroyer Divisions (DesDivs) 99 and 100. The squadron was separated into two divisions to cover the vast area of the Pacific during the Leyte operation.
The ships attached to the Pacific DESRON 50 were:
Destroyer Division 99                            Destroyer Division 100
USS Clarence K. Bronson (DD 668)*   USS Caperton (DD 650)
USS Crotten (DD 669)                           USS Cogswell (DD 651)
USS Dortch (DD 670)                            USS Ingersoll (DD 652)
USS Gatling (DD 671)                           USS Knapp     (DD 653)
USS Healy   (DD 672)
* Denotes Flag Ship

Division 99 participated in joint operations with the carrier strike groups in the western Pacific. Division 100 returned to the West Coast for overhauls upon the conclusion of the operation. During the Okinawa operation the divisions reversed roles and returned as one fighting group soon after the 2 September surrender. They were then returned to the United States for decommissioning.  Destroyer Squadron 50 was re-established on 30 November 1994 onboard the aircraft carrier USS Dwight D. Eisenhower. Captain David M. Stone took command of the squadron, 49 years after it stood down in the Pacific. 
Today, Commander Destroyer Squadron 50/CTF 55 is the permanent afloat arm of the United States FIFTH Fleet. Responsible for conducting theater operations in support of national and coalition maritime objectives. Additionally, DESRON 50 is the tactical commander for 10 Cyclone-class Patrol Crafts and 6 US Coast Guard Patrol. When directed, CTF 55 will exercise tactical control of all independent surface combatants deployed to the U.S. Central Command area of responsibilities.
The ships assigned to COMDESRON 50 are:
USS Tempest     (PC-2)   USCGC Maui          (WPB-1304)
USS Hurricane   (PC-3)   USCGC Maui          (WPB-1304) 
USS Monsoon    (PC-4)   USCGC Aquidneck (WPB-1309)
USS Typhoon    (PC-5)    USCGC Baranof     (WPB-1318)
USS Sirocco      (PC-6)    USCGC Monomoy  (WPB-1326)
USS Squall        (PC-7)    USCGC Wrangell    (WPB-1332)
USS Chinook    (PC-9)     USCGC Adak          (WPB-1333)
USS Firebolt     (PC-10)  USS Whirlwind   (PC-11)
USS Thunderbolt (PC-12)  |  |  Navy FOIA  |  DoD Accessibility/Section 508  |  No Fear Act   |  Open Government  |  Plain Writing Act  |  Veterans Crisis Line  |  VA Vet Center  |  FVAP  |  DoD Safe Helpline  |  Navy SAPR  |  NCIS Tips  |  Privacy Policy  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us   |  988 Helpline
Commander, Naval Surface Force Atlantic  |  1751 Morris Street  |  Norfolk, Virginia 23511-2808
Official U.S. Navy Website
Veteran's Crisis Line